Norman Borlaug’s Major Awards, Honors

Norman Borlaug’s Major Awards, Honors

Known as the “Father of the Green Revolution,” Norman E. Borlaug had a storied career, right up to his death due to complications from cancer on Sept. 12, 2009.


Here is a list of the major awards and honors.

  • Nobel Peace Prize, 1970.
  • Election to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, 1970 and nine Foreign Academies
  • Aztec Eagle, Government of Mexico, 1970.
  • Outstanding Agricultural Achievement Award, World Farm Foundation (USA), 1971.
  • Presidential Medal of Freedom (USA), 1977.
  • Jefferson Award, American Institute for Public Service, 1980.
  • Distinguished Achievement Award in Food and Agricultural Sciences, Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (USA), 1982.
  • The Presidential World without Hunger Award: Educator/Scientist category (USA), 1985.
  • The 1988 Americas Award, The Americas Foundation (USA).
  • Jefferson Lifetime Achievement Award (USA), 1997.
  • Altruistic Green Revolution Award, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, 1998.
  • Recognition Award for Contributions to World Wheat and Maize Research and Production, Republic of El Salvador, 1999.
  • Dedication of Norman E. Borlaug Center for Southern Crop Improvement, Texas A&M University, 1999.
  • Vannevar Bush Award, National Science Foundation (USA), 2000.
  • Memorial Centennial Medial of the N.I. Vavilov Research Institute of Plant Industry (Russia), 2000.
  • Public Welfare Medal, National Academy of Sciences (USA), 2002.
  • The 2002 Rotary International Award for World Understanding and Peace, Barcelona, Spain.
  • The Philip Hauge Abelson Prize, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2002.
  • Award for Distinguished Achievements to Science and Medicine, American Council of Science and Health, 2003.
  • National Medal of Science (USA), 2004.
  • Padma Vibhushan in Science and Engineering, awarded by the Government of India, 2006.
  • Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture created as part of the Texas A&M University System, 2006.
  • Congressional Gold Medal, 2006.
  • Texas A&M University honorary doctor of letters degree, 2007 (Borlaug received more than 50 honorary degrees in his career).

Leave a Reply